Tuesday, January 27, 2009

My wedding shopping spree!

I went shopping last Thursday for some wedding stuff, and I got a whole bunch of things to use at the wedding. I was so excited shopping around for stuff, I had a blast!! I got a call from Wal-Mart to come in and interview on Friday, so it was kind of my treat to myself to go out and buy stuff, even though I really don't have money!! But you will love the stuff I got...Cuz I sure do!! So here is all the stuff I got!!!














































































































I have yet to conquer how to put the words above or below the picture...so for now this will have to work. I got this cute little book where your quests can write a little message to you and then you can put all the little messges into a book and read them.

I got my shoes to wear under my dress, just pray they don't hurt my feet!
I got red plates and red napkins. (Thank goodness for Valentine's day!)
I got three different colored rose petals that I will use in my flower girl basket and just as decorations.
I got a candy mold of a double heart. I am going to make little chocolate hearts and put them into bags and use them as my wedding favors.
Some red cutlery.
My ring bearer pillow.
And lastly my flower girl basket. I love the basket and the pillow!!

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Some cute ideas I found for wedding favors

Now for favor ideas..I haven’t yet decided what I want to give as gifts at the receptions, but I found a LOT of cute ideas!! So here they are!

For heart shaped tins, or other heart shaped sentiments you can fill with candy and attach a note that says “Thanks for sharing our special day with us”, or “Thank you from the bottom of our hearts”, or “a hearty thank you to all who shared this day with us!.”

Another cute idea is having little wedding bubbles on the table and attach a Hershey kiss to them and put a note on it that says “blowing kisses.”

If you are going to do candle favors, you could add a note saying “the light of your love will always burn bright”, or “our love shines like an eternal flame.”
I really liked this saying. I thought it was very cute!! Here it is:
It doesn’t matter where you go in life…
It matters who you have walking beside you.
Thank you for sharing our wedding day.

I thought it would be cute to have a cookie cutter shaped angel and either leave it as a cookie or turn it into a magnet or ornament and have it say:
Something old
Something new
Here is an Angel
To watch over you

I really thought this was a cute saying also: It was written in the stars, they were meant to be. (Then we can have our wedding date and names on it.)

This is REALLY cute and VERY inexpensive!! Have suckers at the tables and put “Suckers for each other”.

A cute quote “When you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

Some more cute sayings:
The bride was showered with gifts, that’s true,
But this little favor is just for you!

Wishing upon stars is what people do…
When I wished upon a star, I wished for you.

Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live

Live your life to its fullest
Laugh at all the things that don’t matter
Love with all that you have and more


I really like the last idea because that is what I want on my wedding cake. But I don't really know what to put that saying on!!

Cute Ideas I found online

I was browsing the internet looking for wedding ideas and I found a lot of interesting things. At one site, I found a place where you can get your ENTIRE vows engraved onto your wedding ring!! I thought this was cute, but the words would be sooo little that it would be hard to read it. But how cool is technology!! I want to get the rings engraved, but not with our entire vows though!!

Another idea that I found is a gift for the flower girl. I was having trouble with this idea. I didn’t know what I should get my niece Kadence for being the Flower Girl at my wedding. I wanted it to be cute, and something she would remember. I thought that I could get a lot of little things, and a shirt or bag or something that has the words “flower girl” on it. Well, I found the PERFECT idea!! I am going to get her a bridal Barbie!! What better gift could I find for her!! She is going to be sooo decided, and then when I play Barbie’s with her, I can reenact my wedding day!!!

I really want to use something other than just a book for my guests to write their names in. I sort of want to have a book with pictures of Daniel and I throughout it, and they can sign and leave a message throughout the book. (I kind of stole this idea from one of my sister’s blogs. Thanks Stephanie!!) Another idea is having a picture frame with our engagement picture in it and having people sign the actual picture frame. I don’t know, I like these ideas better than an old smelly book that will be put into a closet and forgotten about!!


Also, I came across a cute idea for the older couples at the reception. I will have a list of songs for the DJ to play, and the first song he plays will be for all couples, then the second song will be for married couples, then for married over 5 or more, then 10 years and on and on until the oldest couple is on the dance floor. I love old people and it just makes my heart smile to see people that have been happily married for over 50 years!!!

Thursday, January 15, 2009

I envy those who get married merely months after their engagement. For the last couple weeks, I get bored at night and decide to work on the wedding stuff. There is absolutely nothing for me to do right now! I want to plan everythign out and have everything in order, but I'm stuck! I go to google search and type in "wedding stuff" just to simply try and find somethign to do. I found a list of things that you are supposed to do from the beginning, 9-6 months from the wedding, 6-4 months from the wedding, and so on until the actual day. Well so far, here is the list I can do so far..
1. Share the news with family and friends. Alright, I am doing that. Don't really know who else I know that doesnt know!
2. Discuss finances. Ok, so I havn't actually asked everybody, but I guess I assume if they want to help out, they will! I hate asking people for money!
3. Set the date and location. Done and done. October 24th at the New Hope Church with the reception in Stewardson.
4. Meet with Pastor. Actually, I still need to do this!! Daniel and I have to take a class before we get married. So I guess I will get moving on this one!!
5. Make guest-list. Alright, I started this like the day after Daniel asked me!! Currently Ihave 112 people invited. I am still waiting for my mom's list and my soon to be mother-in-law's list as well.
6. Think of style and theme. Alright, kinda classy with the colors being red and black with a Paris themed reception.
7. And lastly, start shopping for a dress. I already have my dress, plus my bridemaid's dresses!!

So now I have to wait until crunch time before I can do anything else. I think in the next week or two I will have my reception decorations picked out. Other than that, I don't really have much else to do other than food, dj, and cake. That is about it. October is SOOO freaking far away!!

Chicken Soup

Last January, before Daniel and I moved to Florida, I had purchased a Chicken Soup for the Bride's Soul book. I know, silly me, I wasn't even engaged yet! But somehow I knew he'd ask me soon enough. I hid the book until after I moved back and just started reading it like a month or so ago. I am a sucker for Chicken Soup books, but seriously, I think I've gotten teary eyed in all the stories I've read which is right around 50 stories!!! I am going to be such a mess on my wedding day. I am going to have to have touch-ups on my make-up like every 30 minutes!!

Monday, January 12, 2009

I'M A WINNER!!!

So I got a message today from a lady that works at American Prestige. She was calling to let me know that my name had been drawn for a prize at the Bridal Expo. I was excited, so I wrote down her number then went outside to my car to call. (Kristi has NOO reception in her house!!) So I waited on hold for like 10 minutes and a lady informed me that I had won a free trip plus 1,000 dollars in grocery coupons!!! I was excited...but not like over the top excited. I figured something wasn't right. Well she gave me a conformation number and told me that me and my husband to be needed to go to the Hilton Garden Inn to talk to the representatives there and they would discuss different options of where we could go. So I came inside, went straight for the computer, and they are a HUGE scam!!! So now, I have to call tomorrow and tell them that I will not be there on Friday due to the fact that they are trying to rip me off. So this should be fun!!! Wish me luck!!

Sunday, January 11, 2009

The Bridal Expo

Daniel and I went to the Bridal Expo at Thelma Keller Convention Center today. We actually had fun!! We walked around to lot's of different booths and signed up for a couple of different things and talked to lot's of different people. There was SOOO many people there, it was insane. And it was like 90 degrees in there, so that wasn't much fun. But we got to eat some good food and eat LOT'S of cake. I really liked the strawberry delight and dreamsicle cake. The chocolate chip cake was really good also. Mmmm...I wish we could just get cake to eat!! It was sooo yummy!! But I think we are going to get our food from IGA and I think we got a DJ for around $375. So I am SUPER excited!! Now all I need to decide on is where to get my cake done. Also, I still need invitation's and wedding program's. So much to do!!

On a different note, after the bridal expo, I met some of my friends at wal-mart and we got some food and candy. Then went to see the movie Bride Wars. It was a good movie and I had fun hanging with my girls!! We ate enough popcorn to feed a small army though!! We were all soo sick from the popcorn after the movie. But it was really good!! And extra buttery!!

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Wedding aholic

So now whenever I flip through the channels on the television and see anything that has "wedding" in the title, I feel that I have to stop and look at it and take notes or see if I am doing things right. Some shows are kind of interesting, while other shows are very insane!! I actually sat through an entire show lastnight and it was interesting and crazy to me at the same time. It was on one of the baking channels, and the title was something like Outrageous wedding cakes. It dealt with 3 or 4 bakeries around the world, and their attempts to make the "perfect" wedding cake. People that have that much money to spend on those cakes are just insane!! These people actually spent days...no WEEKS to put these cakes together!! And while they were making them, I just couldn't get over the fact of all the edible things they had to find to make these cakes "perfect". They had paint, and laquer, and spray paint, and glitter, and blown sugar balls, and bows, and all this stuff that just doesn't seem right!! The wedding cakes were BEAUTIFUL when they got done with them, but after they spent all that hard work on it, how could you just take it to the destination knowing it was just going to be eaten!! That has to be a hard job!! And if it was my cake...I would preserve it and not eat it. It's like a freaking work of art!! I'd be happy with a confetti cake from walmart with homeade red iciing!! It would be nice to have all the money in the world to spent $5000 dollars on JUST my wedding cake...hmm...a girl can wish I guess!
Here are some more of my ideas for the big day!!

This is my cake topper. I think it is just freaking adorable!!



























I saw these invitations online and thought they were cute.
They open up to look like a flower and inside is the
invitation. Of course mine would be red and black!!














I also really liked these invitations. I thought they looked really classy and cute.















And this is an invite that my sister made for me a while ago. I really like the look of it!!


Thursday, January 8, 2009

So I have been working on some planning for a little while now. I have a lot of pictures on my MySpace, but I decided to post them here so you can enjoy them and then everything can be together!! So enjoy all the pictures!!



This is the cake I fell in love with. I am going to have red flowers on it istead of white to bring out more color. Plus, my colors are red and black. I hope I can find someone in Effingham that can make this cake!!













I really like this bouquet. I am going to look at other options soon, but I like the full deep red one! I think it looks pretty!







The last three pictures are from the place I am gonig to have my reception at. It looks kind of blah now, but after me and my crew get done decorating it...it is going to look SOOOO pretty!!












Wednesday, January 7, 2009

This is soo exciting!

So before when I heard that people had their own blogs for their wedding, I thought WOW!! WAAAAY too much time! But now, after looking at other people's site's, I think it is fun and thrilling to write stuff!! And to share to the world (well, a select few I guess) what our ideas are and the places we are getting married at and stuff. So bear with me, because I am new to this whole thing, but I hope you will enjoy it!! Soon I will have pictures and videos and ideas on there and you can comment away!! I am soooo excited!!!